Fantasy in the 1960s-1990s

- Poul Anderson
- Ursula Le Guin
- Anne McCaffrey
- Roger Zelazny
- Terry Brooks
- Stephen Donaldson
- David Eddings
- Guy Gavriel Kay
- Robert Jordan
- Terry Goodkind
- Raymond Feist

  • Zelazny & Amber

  • More links to sites about Roger Zelazny can be found among my
    fantasy links
  • A bibliography over Roger Zelazny books

    Roger Zelazny, a bibliography

    The first series of Amber
    "Nine Princes in Amber" (1970)
    "The Guns of Avalon" (1972)
    This book at (USA)
    Synopsis: Corwin, heir to the throne of Amber, crosses Shadow Worlds and has many an adventure before arriving in Amber to challenge his usurping brother, Eric. Arriving with his troops, however, Corwin discovers that the evil demons of Chaos are besieging Amber and joins forces with Eric to save his birthright.
    "Sign of the Unicorn" (1975)
    This book at (Europe)
    "The Hand of Oberon" (1976)
    "The Courts of Chaos" (1978)
    This book at (USA)
    Synopsis: In the conclusion of the first cycle in the Amber series, Corwin finds his world slowly dissolving around him. His father Oberon, who is disguised as Corwin's friend Ganelon, steals the Jewel of Judgment and tries to remake the Pattern which Brand has marred. When Oberon's efforts fail, Corwin is the only surviving son of Amber with the power to battle Brand.

    All books assembled in an omnibus, consisting of two volumes:
    "The Chronicles of Amber" (1979)

    The second series of Amber
    "Trumps of Doom" (1985)
    This book at (USA)
    This book at (Europe)
    Synopsis: Fighting off an unknown assailant every April 30th, California computer hacker Merle Corey discovers that he is actually Merlin, the son of the missing Prince Corwin of the royal house of Amber.
    "Blood of Amber" (1986)
    This book at (USA)
    This book at (Europe)
    Synopsis: Pursued by a fiendish enemy, Merle must battle through an intricate web of vengeance and murder that threatens more than the San Francisco Bay area. For Merle Corey of California is also Merlin, son of Corwin, vanished Prince of Amber; and the forces, seeking to destroy the royal house, have unleashed sorceries that can strike anywhere, especially at the very heart of Amber.
    "Sign of Chaos" (1987)
    This book at (Europe)
    "Prince of Chaos" (1991)
    This book at (USA)
    Synopsis: The final volume in Merlin's sequence of Amber novels--a dramatic conclusion filled with adventure, surprises and revelations by the award-winning author of Blood of Amber. Merle Corey, a.k.a. Merlin, is now third in line to occupy the throne of Chaos. But dark enchantments await him. For at the end of his quest lies an unsettling destiny.

    Other books related to the series of Amber
    "A Rhapsody in Amber" (1981)
    "Roger Zelazny's Visual Guide to Castle Amber" (1988)
    written together with Neil Randall

    Wizard World
    "Changeling" (1980)
    "Madwand" (1981)
    "Changeling" and "Madwand" were assembled in an omnibus:
    "Wizard World" (1989)

    "The Bells of Shoredan" (1979)
    "The Changing Land" (1981)
    "Dilvish, the Damned" (1982)
    collection of stories

    Azzie Elbub
    written together with Robert Sheckley
    "Bring me the Head of Prince Charming" (1991)
    "If at Faust You Don't Succeed" (1993)
    "A Farce to be Reckoned With" (1995)

    Other books:
    "Four for Tomorrow" (1967)
    also published with the name "A Rose for Ecclesiastes" (1969)
    "The Doors of His Face, the Lamps of His Mouth, and Other Stories" (1971)
    the title story "The Doors of His Face, the Lamps of His Mouth" were published in one volume in 1991.
    "This Immortal" (1966)
    won a Hugo award in 1966
    "The Dream Master" (1966)
    published earlier as the story "He Who Shapes", won a Nebula award 1966
    "Lord of Light" (1967)
    won a Hugo award 1968
    "Jack of Shadows" (1971)
    "The Last Defender of Camelot" (1980)
    collection of stories
    "Unicorn Variations" (1983)
    collection of stories, won a Balrog award 1984
    "Frost and Fire" (1989)
    collection of stories
    "Gone to Earth" (1992)
    collection of stories
    "The Black Throne" (1990)
    written together with Fred Saberhagen
    "The Mask of Loki" (1990)
    This book at (USA)
    written together with Thomas T. Thomas
    "A Night in the Lonesome October" (1993)
    This book at (USA)
    Synopsis: In the murky London gloom, a knife-wielding gentleman prowls the midnight streets with his faithful watchdog Snuff--gathering together the grisly ingredients they will need for an upcoming ancient and unearthly rite. And all manner of players, both human and undead, are preparing to participate.
    "Damnation Alley" (1969)
    "Isle of the Dead" (1969)
    ///Francis Sandow
    "To Die in Italbar" (1973)
    ///Francis Sandow
    "Today We Choose Faces" (1973)
    "Poems" (1974)
    "Doorways in the Sand" (1976)
    "Bridge of Ashes" (1976)
    "Deus Irae" (1976)
    written with Philip K. Dick
    "The Illustrated Zelazny" (1978)
    revised and published with the name "The Authorized Illustrated Book of Roger Zelazny" (1979)
    "Roadmarks" (1979)
    "For a Breath i Tarry" (1980)
    "When Pussywillows Last in the Catyard Bloomed" (1980)
    "Coils" (1980)
    written together with Fred Saberhagen
    "Today We Choose Faces/Bridge of Ashes" (1981)
    "To Spin is Miracle Cat" (1981)
    "Eye of Cat" (1982)
    "A Dark Traveling" (1987)
    "The Graveyard Heart" (1990)
    "Home is the Hangman" (1990)
    "Flare" (1992)
    written together with Thomas T. Thomas
    "Way Up High" (1992)
    "Here There be Dragons" (1992)
    This book at (USA)
    "Wilderness" (1994)
    This book at (USA)
    written together with Gerald Hausman
    Synopsis: In 1808, trapper John Colter ran and climbed 150 miles through what is now Yellowstone National Park to escape 100 pursuing Indians. In 1823, hunter Hugh Glass, left for dead after a bear attack, crawled 100 miles for help. Here is the saga of two tortured men who defined the spirit of wilderness survival.
    "Psychoshop" (1998?)
    This book at (USA)
    Synopsis: Half finished upon Bester's death, and completed by Zelazny, "Psychoshop" envisions a commercial establishment that attracts customers ranging from Edgar Allan Poe to a sorcerer intent on fabricating the Beast of Revelations.
    "Donnerjack" (1998?)
    This book at (USA)
    Synopsis: Completed posthumously by his longtime friend and collaborator Jane Lindskold, DONNERJACK is one of two novels Roger Zelazny started before his death. This is a magnificent science fiction epic about two virtual worlds that exist alongside each other, complete with separate gods and goddesses one set of which attempts to cross over and rule the other.
    "Forever After" (1995?)
    This book at (USA)
    Synopsis: Zelazny is tired of the same-old same-old in fantasy, and he wants to share a new vision with readers. He has enlisted Robert Asprin, David Drake, Jane Lindskold and Mike Stackpole to write novellas that take place in a world where the millennial battle against the forces of evil has just been won and all are about to live happily ever after. Of course, there's a catch.

    More info about Zelazny:
    "Roger Zelazny: A Primary and Secondary Bibliography" (1980)
    by Joseph L. Sanders
    "Roger Zelazny"
    by Jane Lindskold

    - Terry Brooks
    Contact: use this form