Fantasy in the 1960s-1990s

- Poul Anderson
- Ursula Le Guin
- Anne McCaffrey
- Roger Zelazny
- Terry Brooks
- Stephen Donaldson
- David Eddings
- Guy Gavriel Kay
- Robert Jordan
- Terry Goodkind
- Raymond Feist

  • Ursula LeGuin's Magical World of Earthsea

  • More links to sites about Ursula Le Guin can be found among my
    fantasy links
  • 60s, Ursula Le Guin

    Ursula K. Le Guin

    At the of the 60s the author Lin Carter became editor of a type of books called Adult Fantasy. In this serie of classic books published in paperback both authors that were known for their fantasy, among others, William Morris and Lord Dunsany, as well as newly produced fantasy was published. This marks the start of the modern fantasy.

    Ursula K(roeber) Le Guin (1929-) debuted 1966 with the first part of a science fiction-trilogy: Rocannon's World. In 1968 the first book in her most known fantasyseries were published: Earthsea.
    The books in the trilogy Earthsea are A Wizard of Earthsea (1968), The Tombs of Atuan (1972) and The Farthest Shore (1972). In 1990 a fourth books was published: Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea.
    Le Guin wrote the series after an editor for a publisher that focused on children, asked her if she could write something for youths. Le Guin had wrote short stories taking place on islands and was about magic, so she used this setting for the books.
    The story is about a young magician called Ged, and you will follow him as he grows older. In the first novel he studies magic and gets in trouble when he releases spells he can't control.
    The series is one of the most influent fantasy-series since the 60's.

    - Anne McCaffrey

    Books at (Europe):
    Rocannon's World
    A Wizard of Earthsea
    The Tombs of Atuan
    The Farthest Shore
    Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea
    Contact: use this form